Glamis

XTate
Bronco Info: 95 Bronco stock not for long

Glamis

Post by XTate »

Anybody bring their full size bronco out to the dunes? Did you get stuck ? Could you bowl , jump ect ? Was it fun or frustrating ?
Wrightracing.net
Bronco Info: 1972 Bronco with an 86 chassis, full cage and Long travel coil-over suspension.

Glamis

Post by Wrightracing.net »

I have been driving my Bronco everwhere at Glamis since I got it in 1992. I love it. More Horse power was my only need. My 302 with 35" tires took me all over and was really fun. I run a Detroit locker in the rear and a Limited Slip up front. I ran BFG AT'S aired down to 12 to 15 psi. Once I get my new 408 stroker, I want to get paddles. I love Pismo also.

David...
XTate

Re: Glamis

Post by XTate »

I have this buddy with a LS3 big blower, sand car maybe 3000 lb that is bugging me to go to the dunes, I know nothing about sand, I am building my bronco for the cactus and the rocks, I bet I am over 5500 lb with a 302 maybe 180 real horses. On the good side with my beadlocks I could air down to under 10 psi. Do you go in the big bowls ?
Wrightracing.net
Bronco Info: 1972 Bronco with an 86 chassis, full cage and Long travel coil-over suspension.

Ya, my 302 is in the range of 280 to 300 hp with customers heads and 12.1 compression running on Race fuel. That motor did better after the upgrade, but still did ok with the stock motor with 3" exhaust, JBA headers and the big K&N air filter.

That picture above of my Bronco is me in the big bowls at Glamis, so yes for the big bowls.

The big bowls and dunes are not the difficult part of Glamis, it's the small choppy dunes where it's hard to keep up your momentum up. Also, it tends to be siltier in the small dunes to the East of Oldsmobile Hill towards China Wall.
SteveG
Admin
Bronco Info: Wilson: 96, Stretched 17.5", coil-overs / Bypasses, 4-link, a fridge and all the amenities :)

Post by SteveG »

Which customer's heads are you using?
Sho nuff,
SteveG
Tchajagos