First radio install.

Dezertbronco
Bronco Info: 1990 Bronco EB

First radio install.

Post by Dezertbronco »

Ok guys, this is an area that is un charted for me. I need help.

I have a trusty roadmaster, and a PCI antenna, the roof mount kind.

The question is where do I mount the antenna? Rugged told me I needed it to be in the center of the vehicle to be effective. I will mount the radio in the center console.

Anyone got any photos or pointers of the antenna install, that's a big hole to drill in the wrong spot.

Thanks
Rmc
El Jefe
Bronco Info: 94 bronco xlt prerunner

Re: First radio install.

Post by Rmc »

I'm no expert ( as a matter of fact I have 2 of them I need to install myself) but I recall the guys who've done it saying install the antenna at the back middle of the roof ( where the dome light is but outside). They were saying its for grounding purposes , Not sure on any other details.
robertcrav
Let me google that for you
Bronco Info: Lana - Stock width c/t coil-overs/bypasses -- Sylvia - Stock width 4" Rancho kit on Billies

Post by robertcrav »

I'm no expert either but that location is convenient because you can remove the dome light and drill straight up... but the center of the roof is generally the best because it gives the biggest ground plane (I think that is the correct term)

I have read about guys laying a wire mesh inside the shell roof to get the shell to be some what conductive as well
Wrightracing.net
Bronco Info: 1972 Bronco with an 86 chassis, full cage and Long travel coil-over suspension.

Post by Wrightracing.net »