Delorme GPS 2-way Satellite Communication

funinthesun95
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco MAF UsShift

Delorme GPS 2-way Satellite Communication

Post by funinthesun95 »

Delorme GPS for Android anyone ever use this? for offroad? or is it new?

http://shop.delorme.com/OA_HTML/DELibeC ... tion=10820

any feedback would be great.....I get that it may not be good for Race application......but Prerun or Mexico trips.....what you think
Good people + Great info = GFB
@csracingteam
@Cockstarmotorsports
PaulW
Bronco Info: Modified and Linked 1972 Bronco

Re: Delorme GPS 2-way Satellite Communication

Post by PaulW »

Concept is not new and for sure it would be great for off road where no cell service or radio were available. It is the next best thing to a Sat phone and a lot less expensive. Just like a phone a racer would have to stop and type then send. Not like a radio, but great when one is out of radio range - like Baja or Nepal.

I have been using SPOT Messenger for 2 years. Then about a year ago they offered a deal with Delorme to allow text editable text to be sent via SPOT to anybody from anywhere using a Delorme addon device. Now SPOT has a new setup for a smart phone to do the same thing. See http://www.findmespot.com/en/index.php?cid=116
Works world wide with no cell connection. Appears to the same setup and the one on your link. Anyway do not fear, I think both sytems will work as advertized. They have many customers worldwide.

My SPOT2 sends pre programed messages and one cannot change them until you get home to your PC. Very old school. The new technology is a very much better solution. Not sure if the SPOT text creater version that does not use a smart phone is still available?
PaulW
=================
funinthesun95 wrote:Delorme GPS for Android anyone ever use this? for offroad? or is it new?

any feedback would be great.....I get that it may not be good for Race application......but Prerun or Mexico trips.....what you think
PaulW

Post by PaulW »