Lowrance cheat sheet

tcm glx
Peanut Butter
Bronco Info: 93 Ford Bronco 5.8

Lowrance cheat sheet

Post by tcm glx »

First off, let me start by saying this is a fantastic Cheat Sheet by PCI, and I use it on a regular basis. It was included in my Lowrance Baja 840 purchase, and I absolutely love it.

I have about 5 yrs experience using the Lowrance units, and I highly recommend them for anyone chasing, or just playing in the desert. Most folks will say it isnt needed, but until you use one, you will have no idea how great they truly are.

That being said, this is a cheat sheet that is for the Lowrance GlobalMap and Baja style units.
tcm glx
Peanut Butter

Re: Lowrance cheat sheet

Post by tcm glx »

Setting up your new GPS

Use these settings for racing and making trails.
1. Make sure your Map Orientation is set to “Track up.” With the unit turned on from the map screen, press Menu go down to Map Orientation. Make sure the track up box is checked. If North up is selected, turns will be confusing.
2. Zoom in to 0.6 miles. This will show you what is coming up one half mile before you get there. If you lose the course, zoom out until you see where you made your mistake, then follow your line being extra careful that someone else did not make the same mistake and you meet head on!
3. PCI recommends a large speedometer on your screen so you can monitor your Highway speeds. Menu, Overlay Data, GPS Data*, (*some units will have the antenna model listed instead of GPS Data, it is always at the top of the list and will not be visible if you are not connected to your antenna) Ground Speed, Exit, Cursor right to change size.
4. For the larger GPS sizes you can customize your map data on the left side of the screen. Pages, digital data, exit. Menu, customize and now you change your GPS to the data you want.