fixed or adjustable caster on radius arms

magic carpet XLT

fixed or adjustable caster on radius arms

Post by magic carpet XLT »

so i'm going to be building a set of radius arms here pretty soon. they aren't going to be anything special, but i've been thinking about ways to creatively make built in adjustments to fine tune caster down the road. then i remembered seeing that nearly every single desert truck with radius arms has fixed caster.

is it worth it to build in some kind of adjustment for caster?
what is a good caster number for a fullsize van? i'm thinking 5-7 would probably be good
on kingpin beams, is there any built in adjustment to fine tune the alignment? similar to TTB alignment cams

excuse the basic ignorance, i'm new to this whole 2wd thing...
SteveG
Admin
Bronco Info: Wilson: 96, Stretched 17.5", coil-overs / Bypasses, 4-link, a fridge and all the amenities :)

Re: fixed or adjustable caster on radius arms

Post by SteveG »

[quote="magic carpet XLT"]is it worth it to build in some kind of adjustment for caster?/quote]
Not in my opinion. There have been a very small handful of caster adjustable beam trucks out there but they are few and far between. I say build it right the first time (fixed caster) and be done with it.

Then again, if you feel like experimenting and have the time... why the hell not. Maybe you'll teach us something.
Sho nuff,
SteveG
magic carpet XLT

Post by magic carpet XLT »

SteveG wrote: Then again, if you feel like experimenting and have the time... why the hell not. Maybe you'll teach us something.
it wouldn't really be that hard. i've already thought of two ways actually.

method one would be similar to the aftermarket radius arms on jeeps with a fixed length lower and an upper link heimed at either end. turning the upper in or out would set your caster. this requires a lot of extra heims, bracketry, time and i feel is a little too complicated.