Window Regulator Opinions

VintageIronFab
Bronco Info: Bronco List:

Window Regulator Opinions

Post by VintageIronFab »

Hello All,
My 95 F150 project is needing a new driver side window regulator upon further review and now that the door panels are off I suppose this is the time to do it. Actually thinking about doing regulators, door handle cables and new actuators. So I’m wanting the entire assembly -as my motor is w eak and the regulator arm is bent. Motor/regulator in a Motorcraft seems unavailable and just over the top expensive. You look online and you see Dorman stuff and the other chiwanese fare- the Dorman is import as well but is it any better than any other import? Any thoughts or experiences would be great.
Thx!
Matt
http://www.vintageironfabworks.com

77- "Victoria"
71- "Annie" Halfcab
73- "Heloise"
96- "Cheryl"
95- Marilyn (F150)
Becks_Bronco
Bronco Info: 96 Eddie Bauer, 5.8

Re: Window Regulator Opinions

Post by Becks_Bronco »

I have no experience with any of these, thankfully my factory regulators are in good working shape. They are weirdly fast compared to my 2011 F150 lol
Bronco Info: 1979 Class 3 Race Bronco. Built in 2000.

Post by 300 »

I have used a lot of Dorman stuff. About the same endurance as the original stuff in my experience. Many times the problem with a slow motor is the lubrication has gone away, and you have rusty metal on rusty metal. That's lube everywhere, all of the pivot points, the motor bearings. You also need to have good working rollers if there are any. You would have to run a window motor a ton to wear out the brushes, etc.

The door handle operating stuff actually is a poor design and prone to wear, and then breaks out of the metal inner door panel when it really gets bad. They are stupid expensive from Ford when you have to buy the entire handle mechanism, cable and latch. A lot of the problem comes back to dried out lube again.
VintageIronFab
Bronco Info: Bronco List:

Post by VintageIronFab »