Engine Builder and Machine shop

Wrightracing.net
Bronco Info: 1972 Bronco with an 86 chassis, full cage and Long travel coil-over suspension.

Engine Builder and Machine shop

Post by Wrightracing.net »

I am thinking about my motor for the Bronco.

I am looking for a builder that can either rebuild a 351w with all the proper clearances and upgrades for a 408w stroker. I can source the major parts, but I am not experienced in V8 building. I use to rebuild 2 stroke dirtbike motors growing up.

I am going to put a lot of money into parts, so I need the motor done right the first time. I can't afford to make mistakes.

I will need them to assemble the motor completely. I have a stock 1989 351w complete out of a Bronco. Then I have a new Holley Terminator x MPFI system with a Edlebrock Super Victor MPFI intake and Edlebrock 1000cfm 1450 throttle body. I am thinking of running a low profile dual intake plenum to run dual canister cold air intakes.

I want to run pump gas and stay under 600hp to help keep the drive train from blowing up. I will be upgrading the C6 transmission and the axles, but don't want to do it right away.

I am looking for AFR 205CC to 220cc heads. I am not sure what to look for as combustion chamber size. Like I said, I want to say with pump gas.

I am not sure what to do for a cam shaft. I think I want the peak torque to hit around 3000 rpm. And 4500-5000 rpm. What do you think?

I already have a Holley Dual Sync distributor and I plan to pickup a MSD 6 digital off road ignition box. The 1972 dashboard will be 13 inches wider, so I should have room to mount all the electronics under the dash. I want to keep them out of the weather and heat under the hood. Also, with all the electronic interface that the Holley EFI systems are prone to have, I plan to over due all the RFI sheilding on everything. I would rather over protect than under protect the electronics. In the past I have been successful shielding Race Radio stuff on installations I did.